John Bryan spent his career as a faculty member and administrator at universities in Ohio and Massachusetts.  In 2017, he retired from UMass Amherst as Vice Provost for Academic Personnel.  He and his wife Terry have lived in Amherst since 2012.

Elisa Campbell has lived in Amherst for 50 years; during that time, she served on the Planning Board, the Parking Garage Committee, and the Select Board. She has also been a long-time environmental advocate. This column is solely her own opinion, and not that of any of the many organizations she has worked with over the years.

Laura Draucker has lived in Amherst since 2014.  Her work for 14 years and counting involves researching, developing, and implementing solutions for addressing climate change. She works for an environmental NGO in Boston, Ceres, and was previously the director of sustainability for Amherst College. Laura chairs the Amherst Energy and Climate Action Committee, but her post regarding the sustainability benefits of the Jones Library project is her personal opinion.

Kent Faerber has lived in Amherst since 1977. He was the chief advancement officer at Amherst College and then the president of the Community foundation of Western Massachusetts, retiring in 2009. He has served the Jones Library as a trustee, as a member of the Feasibility Committee for the renovation/expansion project, and as the co-chair of the Development and Capital Campaign Committee of the Friends of the Jones Library.

Jan Klausner-Wise has lived in Amherst since 1973. She has an MSW and worked as executive director of the Amherst Resource Center until 1991. After Ellen Story became state representative in 1992, Jan became her district aide, until she retired in 2012.

Bernie Kubiak was a Selectboard member in Belchertown, the town administrator in Hadley, Deerfield, and Northfield, and an Amherst town meeting member. He is now a non-voting member of the current Finance Committee and part of the Transportation Advisory Committee. While in Deerfield he helped develop the South County EMS, a first of its kind regional municipal organization.

Kristin Leutz lives in Amherst, has children at ARHS, and a spouse who has been a longtime educator there. Her career has led her to be involved with many worthy causes in local philanthropy and she served as the CEO of a local entrepreneurship development nonprofit. She now leads a national consulting firm focused on building equitable economies and on the application of positive organizational psychology in the social impact sector.

Janet Marquardt moved to Amherst in 2014 after retiring as Distinguished Professor Emerita in Art and Architectural History at Eastern Illinois University. She is currently studying archival letters and journals from nineteenth-century American missionary women to the Middle East as a Research Associate at Mount Holyoke College. She is a member of the Amherst Historical Commission and their representative to the Design Review Board, but offers only her personal opinions on this blog.

Jon McCabe is a former university administrator who moved to Amherst 11 years ago because he thought a town with a population that has more than 60% bachelor’s or higher degree attainment would be a good place to raise a child.  He has been scratching his head over this decision ever since…

Anastasia Ordonez has lived with her family in Amherst since 2015 and runs her own business advising nonprofit organizations on how to raise awareness for social impact. A long-time social justice activist and educational advocate, Anastasia served on the Amherst School Committee and Regional School Committee for almost four years, and has served on the boards of several organizations. You can often find her hiking with her dog Arlo in the Pioneer Valley woods.

Bob Rakoff moved to Amherst in 1979 to teach politics at Hampshire College, following stints at HUD and the University of Illinois. He retired in 2016 after teaching and writing about land use and environmental policy and serving as Dean of Social Science. Bob chaired the Planning Board in the late 1980s and served several terms in Town Meeting.

Photo credits: Sarah Marshall if not otherwise credited.